About Us

About the Commission

Mission Statement

The Commission on the Status of Women and Girls, a nonpartisan state agency, works in a culturally inclusive manner to promote equality and justice for all women and girls by advocating on their behalf with the Governor, the Legislature and other public policymakers, and by educating the public in the areas of economic equity including educational equity, access to health care including reproductive choice, violence against women and other key issue areas identified by the Commission as significantly affecting women and girls.


Commission Staff

How to Become a Commissioner

The California Commission on the Status of Women is comprised of seventeen members. Nine Public Members, six Legislative Members and two Statutory Members. The Commission itself is not responsible for the appointment of Commissioners.

The appointing authorities are as follows. Please contact them for information on the appointment procedure.

Gubernatorial Appointments

The Governor appoints seven Public Members on a staggered basis. The contact person in the Governor's Office is:

Mona Pasquil
Appointments Secretary
Office of Governor Jerry Brown
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 445-2841
Governor's Appointment Website

Senate Appointments

The Senate Rules Committee appoints three Legislative Members and one Public Member. The contact person in the Senate Rules Office is:

Annette Porini
Appointments Director
State Capitol, Room 500
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 651-4151

Assembly Appointments

The Speaker of the Assembly appoints three Legislative Members and one Public Member. The contact person in the Speaker's Office is:

Lisa Dominguez
Office of Assembly Speaker Toni G. Atkins
State Capitol, Room 219
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 319-2053

Statutory Members

  • The Labor Commissioner representing the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement - Department of Industrial Relations.
  • The Superintendent of Public Instruction.

Upcoming Meetings

2017 Commission Business and Executive Committee Meetings 

  • January 9, 2017 - Executive Committee Meeting 
  • January 23, 2017 - Commission Business Meeting 
  • February 27, 2017 - Executive Committee Meeting
  • March 27, 2017 - Commission Business Meeting 
  • May 22, 2017 - Commission Business Meeting 
  • June 26, 2017 - Executive Committee Meeting 
  • August 28, 2017 - Commission Business Meeting 
  • September 25, 2017 - Executive Committee Meeting 
  • October TBD - Commission Business Meeting 

For meeting notices, agendas and materials visit the Meeting Archives page. 

Local Commissions

Last Updated (Wednesday, 4 February 2015)  
Download/Print Version of California Women's Commissions Directory


California Commission on the Status of Women and Girls
900 N Street, Suite 390
Sacramento, California  95814
(916) 651-5405 Commission office
Geena Davis, Chair
Nancy Kirshner-Rodriguez, Executive Director


Association of California Commissions for Women
849 Marilyn Drive
Campbell, California  95008
(408) 370-3200
Suzanne Doty, President


Alameda County Commission on the Status of Women
Alameda County Social Services Agency
2000 San Pablo Avenue, Suite 445
Oakland, California  94612
(510) 271-9128
Sylvia A. Soublet, Director

Contra Costa Commission for Women
PO Box 6695
Concord, California  94520
(925) 207-1578
Julianna Hynes, Chair

Humboldt County Commission on the Status of Women
825 5th Street
Eureka, California  95501
Diana Cooper, Chair

Los Angeles County Commission for Women
Kenneth Hahn Hall of Administration
500 West Temple Street, Room B-50
Los Angeles, California  90012
(213) 974-1455
Veda E, Ward, President

County of Marin Women's Commission
3501 Civic Center Drive, Room 415
San Rafael, California  94903
(415) 499-6195
Anna Pletcher, Chair
Jaime Powell, Commission Staff

Monterey County Commission on the Status of Women
1000 South Main Street, Suite 308
Salinas, California  93901
(831) 755-4499
Yolanda Cervantes

County of Riverside Commission for Women
County Administrative Center
4080 Lemon Street, 5th Floor
Riverside, California  92501
Jennifer Fuller, Chair

County of San Diego Commission on the Status of Women
Department of Human Resources, County of San Diego
5530 Overland Avenue, 2nd Floor, Suite 210
San Diego, California  92123
(858) 505-6531
Jenni Prisk, Chair
Debrah Champion-Wright, County Staff to the Commission

City & County of San Francisco, Department on the Status of Women
25 Van Ness Avenue, Suite 240
San Francisco, California  94102
(415) 252-2570
Nancy Kirshner-Rodriguez, President
Emily M. Murase, Executive Director, Department on the Status of Women

San Joaquin County Commission on the Status of Women
P.O. Box 4443
Stockton, California  95204
Beverly Fitch McCarthy, Chair

San Luis Obispo County Commission on the Status of Women
P.O. Box 15116
San Luis Obispo, California  93406
(805) 788-3406
Paulla Ufferheide, Chair
Amanda King, Vice Chair

San Mateo County Commission on the Status of Women
455 County Center, 5th Floor
Redwood City, California  94063
(650) 363-4872
Carrie Gann, President
Honora Miller, Director

Santa Barbara County Commission for Women
Equal Employment Opportunity Office
105 E. Anapamu Street, Room 403
Santa Barbara, California  93101
(805) 568-2807
Laura Burton Capps, Chair

Santa Clara County Commission on the Status of Women
70 W. Hedding Street, East Wing, 11th Floor
San Jose, California  95110
(510) 333-8065
Guadalupe Rodriguez, Chair
Carla Collins

Santa Cruz County Women's Commission
701 Ocean Street, Room 30
Santa Cruz, California  95060
(831) 454-2772
Mary Thuerwachter, Commissions Coordinator

Sonoma County Commission on the Status of Women
575 Administration Drive, Suite 116B
Santa Rosa, California  95403
(707) 565-2693
Daniela Pavone, Chair
Tracy Cunha

Stanislaus County Commission for Women
P.O. Box 4254
Modesto, California  95352


Berkeley Commission on the Status of Women
City of Berkeley, Health, Housing & Community Services Department
2180 Milvia Street, 2nd Floor
Berkeley, California  94704
(510) 981-5114
Eric Brenman, Secretary Health, Housing & Community Services Department

City of Carson Women’s Issues Commission
City Hall, 701 E Carson Street
Carson, California  90745
(310) 830-7600
Debbie Green

Compton Commission for Women
Compton City Hall
205 South Willowbrook Avenue
Compton, California  90220
(310) 605-5557
Tana McCoy

Glendale Commission for Women
613 East Broadway, Room 120
Glendale, California  91206
(818) 548-2000 Main
Tereza Aleksanian

Los Angeles City Commission on the Status of Women
200 N. Spring Street, Suite 2111
Los Angeles, California  90012
(213) 978-1675
Araceli Campos, President
Farrah Parker, Executive Director

Pasadena Commission on the Status of Women
Jackie Robinson Center
1020 North Fair Oaks Avenue
Pasadena, California  91103
(626) 744-6530
Anne Wolf, Chair
Rozanne Adanto

Santa Monica Commission on the Status of Women
City Hall, 1685 Main Street, Room 212
Santa Monica, California  90401
(310) 458-8701
Annie Goeke, Chair

West Hollywood Women’s Advisory Board
8300 Santa Monica Blvd.
West Hollywood, Cailfornia  90069
Carla Browning, Chair
Larissa Fooks, Staff Liaison

Commission Gallery